Carnegie-Cameron Taught Postgraduate Bursaries 2015-16

University of Stirling, University Of Stirring


Send email to: **AWARDING_BODY**

  • *
  • *
  • *

Award info

  • Award values:
  • Bursary :£4000 for 1 year

    The value of a Bursary is £4,000. If the course fees are under £4,000 the Trust paid the lower fee amount. If the course fees exceed £4,000, the Trust only covered fees up to £4,000.
  • Application deadline:
  • 12-Jun-15*
    *This is the last application deadline supplied by the provider for this award, we are currently working on updating this information.
  • Award type:
    • Academic excellence
    • Hardship/poverty scholarship
  • Award coverage:
  • Tuition fees
  • Award level:
  • Postgraduate
  • Number of awards:
  • 4
Application info

  • Nationality:
  • Scotland
  • Gender:
  • Both
  • Eligibility requirement:
  • Carnegie-Cameron Taught Postgraduate Bursaries are awarded for the payment of tuition fees for one-year taught postgraduate Masters courses offered by a Scottish university. We intend to notify the successful candidates by the end of July. If a successful candidate has already secured other funding, the bursary will then be offered to the next applicant on the reserve list. Bursaries must be taken up in the year awarded and cannot be deferred. To be eligible, applicants must: be of Scottish birth OR be of Scottish extraction (have at least one parent born in Scotland) OR have been resident in Scotland for a period of at least three years for the purpose of secondary or tertiary education. Candidates will be selected on the basis of their merit and promise, and of their financial circumstances. The most important selection criteria should be those envisaged by Andrew Carnegie: that the candidates be qualified and deserving, industrious and ambitious, and that they would derive particular benefit from a one-year taught postgraduate degree, which they would be unlikely to attend without the award. Bursaries must support taught postgraduate Masters that will enhance students’ employability in their chosen field, develop their specialist skills, or supplement existing ones, thus bettering their career prospects. The Bursaries should not be considered as a stepping stone for further study at PhD level and preference will be given to candidates with a clear career plan outside academia. One-year taught postgraduate courses may be attended on a part-time basis over two consecutive years. Bursaries that have been allocated to a university, but not awarded to any student, will be cancelled, unless the university can award the bursaries to students starting later in the academic year (January for example). Bursaries can only be awarded before students start the course and are not intended for courses awarding a certificate or a diploma. Should a student withdraw from the Masters programme during the academic year, any resulting balance or reimbursement due on fees must be repaid by the university to the Carnegie Trust. Applicants must already have been offered and accepted a place to study on a postgraduate taught programme at the University of Stirling in order to be considered, and must meet their conditions of offer in full before the award of a bursary can be confirmed.
  • Application details:
  • Deadline - 12 June 2015

Awards from this institution

Santander Masters Scholarships
5000 Each scholarship has a value of £5,000, tenable for one academic year, which will be awarded in the form of a reduction in tuition fees payable to the University of Stirling.
Santander Doctoral Travel Awards
1000 5 awards up to £1000 each for 1 Academic year
Dorothy Nicol Scholarship
13500 £13,500 towards overseas tuition fees
Merit Bursaries for Undergraduates from England, Wales or Northern Ireland
2000 These cash bursaries range from between £1,000 and £2,000 per year for the four years of your undergraduate degree course.
Wauton Scholarship
1000 The Wauton Scholarship provides £1,000 funding towards tuition fees for a student on MSc in Investment Analysis.
BUTEX Scholarship
500 £500
The University of Stirling Vietnam Award
1000 This award offers a fee waiver of £1,000 for the first year and £500 for years two, three and four to every student from Vietnam studying for a full-time undergraduate or postgraduate (taught or research) degree for 1 Academic year
British Federation of Women Graduates (BFWG) Scholarships
6000 The amounts offered range from £2500 to £6000.