Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Durham University


Send email to: **AWARDING_BODY**

  • *
  • *
  • *

Award info

  • Award values:
  • The Scholarship covers full payment of tuition fees, stipend, study travel and allowance.
  • Application deadline:
  • 07-Apr-15*
    *This is the last application deadline supplied by the provider for this award, we are currently working on updating this information. Please contact provider for more details.
  • Award type:
    • Academic excellence
  • Award coverage:
  • Stipend, Travel Tuition, Tuition fees
  • Award level:
  • Postgraduate
  • Number of awards:
  • 6
  • Award duration:
  • 1 Academic years

Application info

  • Nationality:
  • Commonwealth
  • Gender:
  • Both
  • Eligibility requirement:
  • The purpose of this scholarship is to provide an opportunity for Commonwealth nationals from developing countries to receive fully funded scholarship on a Taught Masters programme at Durham University. The scholarship is open to applicants from one of the eligible countries who are also wishing to study one of the eligible programmes. Geographical Criteria: Applicants must be a national of or permanently domiciled in one of the following Commonwealth developing countries: Anguilla, Kenya, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Antigua and Barbuda, Kiribati, Samoa, Bangladesh, Lesotho, Seychelles, Barbados, Malawi, Sierra Leone, Belize, Malaysia, Solomon Islands, Bermuda, Maldives, South Africa, Botswana, Mauritius, Sri Lanka, British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, Swaziland, Cameroon, Mozambique, Tanzania, Cayman Islands, Namibia, Tonga, Dominica, Nauru, Trinidad and Tobago, Falkland Islands, Nigeria, Tristan da Cunha, Fiji, Pakistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Ghana, Papua New Guineas, Tuvalu, Gibraltar, Pitcairn Islands, Uganda, Grenada, Rwanda, Vanuatu, Guyana, St Helena, Zambia, India, St Kitts and Nevis, Zimbabwe, Jamaica and St Lucia. Level of Study: Taught Master's Degree programmes. Mode of study: Full time. Year of Entry: Applicants for programmes who are commencing their studies in the academic year 2015/16. Programmes: MSc Conflict Prevention and Peace Building MSc Defence, Development and Diplomacy MSc Energy and Society MSc Environment and Natural Resource Economics MSc Medical Anthropology MSc New and Renewable Energy MSc Risk and Environmental Hazards MA Risk and Security MSc Internet Systems and eBusiness MA International Social Work and Community Development. Further information. Applicants must: Be Commonwealth citizens, refugees, or British protected persons. Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country (as above). Be available to commence their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2015. Be able to meet any academic conditions, including any English Language requirements, by the application deadline of 7 April 2015. Not have undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country. Be unable themselves, or through their families, to pay to study in the UK.
  • Application details:
  • Application deadline: 7 April 2015.

Awards from this institution

Robert Young Scholarship
10000 Scholarship worth up to £10,000 per year. Payment of tuition fees. Any remaining balance (if applicable) paid towards accommodation costs. for 1 Academic year
Scholarships for International Masters students
Up to £5,000 applied against academic tuition fees
Doctoral Funding
The Award covers fees and maintenance.
Howard Phelps Award
400 A travel bursary to the value of £400.
MCR Research Bursary for Affiliated Members of Hatfield College
250 Up to eight bursaries valued up to £250 per annum.
Santander Scholarships
5000 Each scholarship is worth £5000 for 1 Academic year